FAQs2021-07-09T22:01:21+00:00
SOME ANSWERS IN ADVANCE.

WHAT WE OFTEN GET ASKED.

What is osteopathy?2021-07-09T21:35:35+00:00

Osteopathy(from the ancient Greek ὀστέον ostéon, bone)was developed during the 19th century by the American Dr. Andrew Taylor Still. This holistic form of therapy is practised with the hands (“manually”). Osteopathy aims to find the root cause of your symptoms. A cause that does not have to be where you feel the discomfort – this may well be in a completely different part of your body. Treating the diagnosed area should provide relief or a full cure. To do this, we actively stimulate the body’s own regulatory systems. Osteopathy differs fundamentally from physiotherapy and chiropractic. Depending on the training and education of the therapist, crossovers can be fluid.

Is osteopathy the right thing for me?2021-07-09T21:35:39+00:00

We all have our very own story, which is inscribed in the body. That is why our osteopathic treatment is basically suitable for everyone of all ages. We work with infants – and we also help older people to have a better quality of life. For us, openness, honesty and transparency are essential. And we are fully tuned to your needs.

What can I expect from an osteopathic treatment?2021-07-09T21:35:45+00:00

During the first appointment we analyse your current state of health. By means of a medical history interview we establish your symptoms, explore and analyse them. We then work out the osteopathic findings. As part of this process we always factor in the overall balance of your body. It is very important here to feel any tension and blockages from head to toe in detail. In the next step, we treat the diagnosed areas osteopathically by easing and releasing them. We use various techniques for this. For example, we release specific fasciae, loosen muscles, use gentle touch techniques – and in rare cases we also make targeted realignments of the body.

Do I have to undress for treatment?2021-07-09T21:35:50+00:00

For the examination and treatment, it may be necessary to undress down to your underwear. We understand, of course, that this might be a problem for you. If so, then please wear light, comfortable clothing.

Do I have to bring anything to my first appointment?2021-07-09T21:35:56+00:00

In principle, no. However, if you have X-ray or MRI images, findings and/or haemograms from your doctor, these are, of course, useful for our collaboration – and a good addition to our medical history discussion. So please bring them with you!

How long does a treatment last?2021-07-09T21:36:00+00:00

We plan 60 minutes for the first appointment. Follow-up appointments usually last 45 to 55 minutes, sometimes 30 minutes are sufficient.

How often will I be treated – and at what intervals?2021-07-09T21:36:05+00:00

This question can only be answered on an individual basis because everybody reacts differently to osteopathy. We are not interested in giving you as many appointments as possible: We usually schedule one to six sessions. Experience shows that many patients experience an improvement after just three treatments. In the case of acute problems, one session is often sufficient. If there is no improvement after three appointments, we discuss how to proceed – and see what options we still have or whether osteopathy is the right way for you. Additional examinations by a specialist may also be required. We discuss the intervals between appointments individually. Usually they are between one and four weeks. After the treatment has been completed, many of our patients come back every six to twelve months to receive preventive support for their health and to “stay on the ball”.

Can I have other forms of treatment during an osteopathic treatment series?2021-07-09T21:36:10+00:00

Certainly! We ourselves often work in parallel with other therapists from orthodox medicine, physiotherapy and psychotherapy. You should do everything that helps you to be healthier. However, it is important to us that we know about other therapies. This is the only way we can coordinate a cooperation with your other therapists if necessary – and integrate osteopathy sensibly into the overall therapy plan.

How can osteopathy help me?2021-07-09T21:36:15+00:00

For legal reasons  we can’t give you an answer to that question here. For example, osteopathy might take away one patient’s  back pain yet the pain will persist for another. Please contact us personally!

Does my statutory health insurance cover osteopathy?2021-07-09T21:36:20+00:00

Yes and no! We meet the entire catalog of required quality standards for health cover. Many statutory health insurance companies now cover the costs of osteopathy on a pro rata basis of 50 to 500 euros per annum – but this does not apply to all insurance companies. In principle, health insurance is always deductible. As the amount of cover varies from year to year and from one insurer to another, please contact your own insurer for details. The website https://www.osteokompass.de provides a good overview. We cannot, of course, accept any liability for any out of date information on the site. Statutory health insurance companies that pay for osteopathy generally require a private doctor’s prescription.

Will my private, full-cover or supplementary insurance pay for osteopathy?2021-07-09T21:36:25+00:00

Charging is in line with the fee schedule for alternative health practitioners. These are accepted and reimbursed by the private health insurers and alternative health insurance companies. Depending on your policy, you may have to pay a percentage of the fee yourself. If your policy excludes alternative practitioner services, you will be responsible for the full amount. If you are in any doubt, a quick call to your insurer is all it takes!

How quickly can I get an appointment?2021-07-09T21:36:30+00:00

It can happen relatively quickly. Our waiting times are from one to four weeks. We are there for you between 7:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. For the popular early morning and evening appointments the waiting time is longer – so the more flexible you are, the faster we can offer you an appointment. We keep special time slots open for regular patients and emergencies every week. Please call us personally. We also have a waiting list: We will be happy to contact you when appointments become available.

Can side effects occur?2021-07-09T21:36:34+00:00

Naturally, every desired effect can also cause undesired effects. An osteopathic treatment begins a process of change in your body. At the beginning you might feel an aggravation, fatigue, a stiffness in the muscles, or other symptoms. Osteopathy is a dynamic process – if such symptoms occur, please contact me at any time!

Do you also have a medical background?2021-07-09T21:36:39+00:00

During our full-time studies, we both spent a considerable amount of time on the basics of orthodox medicine. Specifically, xxxx hours of the more than 4,500 hours of teaching content were devoted to basic subjects such as anatomy, physiology, neuroanatomy and biomechanics – right through to emergency medicine. As a result, we see much more the complementarity of the different disciplines, rather than an opposition.

How do physiotherapy and osteopathy differ?2021-07-09T21:36:44+00:00

Both forms of treatment are manual therapies. And also some techniques are very similar – especially in parietal osteopathy, which deals with the musculoskeletal system. Osteopathy also includes craniosacral osteopathy (central nervous system, cranial bones and the entire spine) and visceral osteopathy (organ systems, their nerve connections and myofascial trains).

How can I support ongoing osteopathic treatment?2021-07-09T21:36:49+00:00

We aim to make the osteopathic treatment “do the work itself”. However, depending on the illness and treatment, we may give you tips that can enhance the effect or support a long-term effect. This includes, for example, fluid balance and intake, compact programs for targeted mobilisation exercises – stretches and/or stability exercises for strengthening. This also includes integrating or avoiding certain foods and practical mental relaxation training.

What if I have to cancel an appointment?2021-07-09T21:39:34+00:00

In order to be able to give you the necessary attention, we only work by appointment. This time is exclusively for you. Should you be unable to keep an appointment, please notify us at least 24 hours in advance. All missed appointments or cancellations/postponements made at short notice are charged a flat rate cancellation fee of € …, .: This will not be covered by health insurers!

Thomas Zimmermann

Osteopathy Practice
at Viktualienmarkt 7 (above MyMüsli)

Phone 0049 89 - 12 50 157 50
from 08 AM - 07 PM

Sie finden unsere Praxis und die einzelnen Therapeuten in der Doctolib-App zur Terminbuchung!

Go to Top

FAQs2021-07-18T12:38:09+00:00
EINIGE ANTWORTEN VORAB.

WAS WIR OFT GEFRAGT WERDEN.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Was, wenn ich einen Termin absagen muss?2021-05-01T18:59:47+00:00

Um Ihnen die notwendige Aufmerksamkeit widmen zu können, arbeiten wir nur mit Termin. Diese Zeit halten wir auch nur für Sie frei. Sollten Sie einmal verhindert sein oder müssen einen Termin verschieben, sagen Sie uns dies bitte spätestens 24 Stunden vorher. Alle versäumten bzw. kurzfristig abgesagten/verschobenen Termine müssen wir mit einer Ausfallpauschale von …..,- € berechnen.: Diese wird nicht von den Krankenkassen erstattet!

Was ist eigentlich Osteopathie?2021-05-01T19:00:43+00:00

Im 19. Jahrhundert entwickelte der US-Amerikaner Dr. Andrew Taylor Still die Osteopathie (vom altgriechischen ὀστέον ostéon, Knochen). Diese ganzheitliche Therapieform wird mit den Händen („manuell“) praktiziert. Die Osteopathie zielt darauf, die eigentliche Ursache Ihrer Symptome zu finden. Eine Ursache, die nicht dort liegen muss, wo Sie die Beschwerden verspüren – auch eine ganz andere Stelle Ihres Körpers kommt dafür infrage. Die Behandlung der diagnostizierten Region soll zu einer Linderung oder Heilung führen. Dafür stimulieren wir aktiv die körpereigenen Regulationssysteme. Osteopathie unterscheidet sich grundsätzlich von Physiotherapie und Chiropraktik. Je nach Weiterbildung und Ausbildung des Therapeuten können die Übergänge jedoch fließend sein.

Ist Osteopathie überhaupt etwas für mich?2021-05-01T19:01:13+00:00

Wir alle bringen unsere ganz eigene Geschichte mit, die sich in den Körper einschreibt. Darum eignet sich unsere osteopathische Behandlung grundsätzlich für jeden Menschen jeder Altersgruppe. Wir arbeiten mit Säuglingen – und wir verhelfen auch älteren Menschen zu mehr Lebensqualität. Für uns sind Offenheit, Ehrlichkeit und Transparenz essenziell. Und wir stellen uns ganz auf Sie ein.

Was erwartet mich bei einer osteopathischen Behandlung?2021-05-01T19:01:35+00:00

Beim ersten Termin analysieren wir den Stand der Dinge: In einem Anamnese-Gespräch sammeln wir Ihre Symptome, hinterfragen und analysieren diese. Im Anschluss erarbeiten wir den osteopathischen Befund. Dabei beziehen wir immer die Statik Ihres Körpers ein. Ganz wichtig ist schon hier das detaillierte Erfühlen von Spannungen und Blockaden von Kopf bis Fuß. Im nächsten Schritt behandeln wir die diagnostizierten Regionen osteopathisch, indem wir sie lockern und entspannen. Dazu nutzen wir verschiedene Techniken. Zum Beispiel lösen wir bestimmte Faszien, lockern Muskulatur, nutzen sanfte Berührungstechniken – und in eher seltenen Fällen auch ein gezieltes Einrenken.

Muss ich mich für die Behandlung entkleiden?2021-05-01T19:02:00+00:00

Für die Untersuchung und Behandlung kann es notwendig sein, sich bis auf die Unterwäsche zu entkleiden . Wir haben natürlich Verständnis dafür, wenn dies ein Problem für Sie sein sollte. Tragen Sie dann bitte möglichst leichte, bequeme Kleidung.

Muss ich zu meinem ersten Termin etwas mitbringen?2021-05-01T19:02:31+00:00

Grundsätzlich nicht. Wenn Sie aber Röntgen- oder MRT-Bilder, Befunde und/oder Blutbilder Ihrer behandelnden Ärzte haben, ist dies natürlich auch für unsere Zusammenarbeit nützlich – und eine gute Ergänzung unseres Anamnese-Gesprächs. Bringen Sie diese also gerne mit!

Wie lange dauert eine Behandlung?2021-05-01T19:03:07+00:00

Für den ersten Termin planen wir 60 Minuten ein. Meist dauern die Folgetermine 45 bis 55 Minuten, manchmal genügen auch 30 Minuten.

Wie oft werde ich behandelt – und in welchen Abständen?2021-05-01T19:03:43+00:00

Darauf gibt es eigentlich nur eine individuelle Antwort, denn jeder Körper reagiert anders auf die Osteopathie. Uns geht es nicht um möglichst viele Termine: Normalerweise planen wir ein bis sechs Sitzungen ein. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass sich bei vielen Patienten bereits nach drei Behandlungen eine Besserung einstellt. Bei akuten Problemen genügt oft sogar eine Sitzung.

Gibt es nach drei Terminen keine Verbesserung, besprechen wir das weitere Vorgehen – und schauen, welche Möglichkeiten wir noch haben oder ob Osteopathie der richtige Weg für Sie ist. Eventuell braucht es auch ergänzende Untersuchungen durch einen Facharzt.

Die Abstände zwischen den Terminen besprechen wir individuell. Meist liegen sie zwischen ein und vier Wochen. Nach abgeschlossener Behandlung kommen viele unserer Patienten alle sechs bis zwölf Monate, um ihre Gesundheit präventiv zu unterstützen und „am Ball zu bleiben“.

Darf es andere Behandlungsformen während einer osteopathischen Behandlungsserie geben?2021-05-01T19:04:32+00:00

Natürlich! Wir selbst arbeiten oft parallel mit anderen Therapeuten aus der klassischen Schulmedizin, Physiotherapie und Psychotherapie zusammen. Alles, was Ihnen zu mehr Gesundheit verhilft, sollen Sie auch tun. Allerdings ist uns wichtig, dass wir von weiteren Therapien wissen. Nur so können wir bei Bedarf eine Zusammenarbeit mit Ihren anderen Therapeutinnen und Therapeuten abstimmen – und die Osteopathie sinnvoll in Gesamt-Therapieplan integrieren.

Wann kann mir Osteopathie helfen?2021-05-01T19:04:55+00:00

Aus rechtlichen Gründen dürfen wir hierzu hier keine Aussage treffen. Osteopathie nimmt dem einen Patienten zum Beispiel seine Rückenschmerzen – einem anderen bleiben sie erhalten. Bitte sprechen Sie uns dazu gern persönlich an!

Zahlt meine gesetzliche Krankenversicherung Osteopathie?2021-05-01T19:05:41+00:00

Ja und nein! Für die Kostenerstattung erfüllen wir den gesamten Katalog der geforderten Qualitätsstandards. Viele gesetzliche Krankenkassen übernehmen die Kosten der Osteopathie mittlerweile anteilig mit 50 bis 500 Euro pro Jahr – aber nicht alle Kassen sind dabei. Grundsätzlich ist immer ein Eigenanteil notwendig. Da die Erstattungen jährlich und von Kasse zu Kasse variieren, informieren sie sich bitte bei Ihrer Krankenkasse. Der https://www.osteokompass.de gibt eine gute Übersicht. Für Aktualität können wir natürlich keine Gewähr übernehmen. Gesetzliche Krankenkassen, die Osteopathie bezahlen, fordern in der Regel ein ärztliches Privatrezept.

Zahlt meine private Vollversicherung oder Zusatzversicherung Osteopathie?2021-05-01T19:06:24+00:00

Die Abrechnung erfolgt über die Gebührenordnung für Heilpraktiker. Diese werden von den privaten Kassen und Heilpraktiker-Zusatzversicherungen akzeptiert und auch erstattet. Je nach Vertrag kann es zu Eigenanteilen kommen. Schließt Ihr Vertrag Heilpraktikerleistungen aus, gibt es keine Erstattungen. Sind Sie unsicher? Ein kurzer Anruf bei Ihrer Kasse genügt!

Wie schnell komme ich an einen Termin?2021-05-01T19:07:04+00:00

Es kann relativ schnell gehen. Unsere Wartezeiten liegen bei ein bis vier Wochen. Wir sind zwischen 7:00 Uhr morgens und 20:00 Uhr am Abend für Sie da. Auf die „gefragten“ frühen und späten Termine müssen Sie länger warten – und je flexibler Sie sind, umso schneller können wir Ihnen einen Termin anbieten. Für Stammpatienten und Notfälle halten wir in jeder Woche spezielle Zeitfenster frei. Rufen Sie uns bitte persönlich an. Zudem haben wir auch noch eine Warteliste: Bei frei werdenden Terminen melden wir uns gern bei Ihnen.

Können Nebenwirkungen und Begleiterscheinungen auftreten?2021-05-01T19:07:34+00:00

Natürlich kann jede (erwünschte) Wirkung auch Nebenwirkungen hervorrufen. Die osteopathische Behandlung setzt in Ihrem Körper einen Änderungsprozess in Gang. Dabei können Sie am Anfang Verschlechterungen, Müdigkeit, eine Art Muskelkater oder andere Symptome verspüren. Osteopathie ist ein dynamischer Prozess – treten dabei solche Symptome auf, kontaktieren Sie mich bitte jederzeit!

Haben Sie auch einen medizinischen Hintergrund?2021-05-01T19:08:11+00:00

In unserem Vollzeitstudium haben wir uns beide für einen erheblichen Teil der Zeit mit den schulmedizinischen Grundlagen befasst. Konkret entfallen allein xxxx Stunden des über 4.500 Stunden umfassenden Lehrinhalts auf Grundlagenfächer wie Anatomie, Physiologie, Neuroanatomie und Biomechanik – bis hin zur Notfallmedizin. Entsprechend sehen wir auch viel mehr ein Miteinander der Disziplinen, kein Gegeneinander.

Wie unterscheiden sich Physiotherapie und Osteopathie?2021-05-01T19:08:35+00:00

Beide Behandlungsformen sind manuelle Therapien. Und auch manche Techniken ähneln sich sehr stark – gerade in der parietalen Osteopathie, die sich mit dem Muskel- und Skelettsystem befasst. Zur Osteopathie gehört aber auch die Cranio-sacrale Osteopathie (Nervensystem und Schädelknochen mit dem ganzen Wirbelkanal) sowie die Viszerale Osteopathie (Organsysteme, deren nervaler Versorgung und die Faszien zwischen den Organen und dem restlichen Körper).

Wie kann ich eine laufende osteopathische Behandlung unterstützen?2021-05-01T19:08:58+00:00

Wir zielen darauf, dass die osteopathische Behandlung zunächst „für sich selbst wirkt“. Je nach Erkrankung und Behandlung geben wir Ihnen unter Umständen aber Tipps, mit denen Sie den Effekt verstärken oder auch eine langfristige Wirkung unterstützen können. Dazu zählen etwa Wasserhaushalt und Trinkmenge, kompakte Programme für gezielte Mobilisationsübungen – Dehnungen und/oder Stabilitätsübungen zur Kräftigung. Auch das Integrieren oder Vermeiden bestimmter Lebensmittel und praktisch umsetzbares mentales Entspannungstraining gehören dazu.

Thomas Zimmermann

Osteopathie Praxis
am Viktualienmarkt 7 (über MyMüsli)

Telefon 089 - 12 50 157 50
von 08.00 –19.00 Uhr

Online Terminbuchung

Nach oben